POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS IN MATHEMATICS

THE DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS AT KTH, STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN, INVITES APPLICATIONS FOR POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIPS.

The postdoctoral fellowships are financed by a grant from the K. & A. Wallenberg foundation.

A candidate is expected to conduct research in one of the following areas: Algebraic geometry, Dynamical systems, Combinatorics, Complex analysis, Mathematical Physics and Spectral theory, Number theory or Partial differential equations.

The duration of the stay is 12 months, with a possibility of prolongation for an additional 12 months, beginning during June-August or September 1, 2009, at the latest.

An application should contain a Curriculum Vitae (maximum 3 pages) and a list of publications, a description of research (maximum 3 pages) and two or three letters of recommendation, sent by the recommenders not the applicant. It is recommended that the candidate contacts one of the persons mentioned below before submitting the application.

Candidates cannot have their PhD degrees from KTH or the Stockholm area. Candidates must not have obtained their PhD degrees earlier than January 1, 2006. Those who have not finished their PhD studies when applying must obtain their PhD degrees before June 1, 2009.

The last date for applications is January 7, 2009. Applications received after this date may not receive full consideration. The candidates should give the full address at which they can be reached during January-May 2009. Please indicate the reference number S-2008-0758 in the application.

Applications and letters of recommendation should be sent to Leena Druck:

Institutionen för matematik
att. Leena Druck
Kgl. Tekniska Högskolan
SE-100 44 Stockholm
Sweden

or druck@kth.se. Applications sent to any other address will not be considered.

Scientific questions can be directed to: Carel Faber for Algebraic geometry, faber@kth.se, Michael Benedicks for Dynamical systems, michaelb@kth.se, Anders Björner for Combinatorics, bjorner@kth.se, Håkan Hedenmalm for Complex analysis, haakanh@kth.se, Kurt Johansson, Ari Laptev or Jens Hoppe for Mathematical Physics and Spectral theory, kurtj@kth.se, laptev@kth.se, hoppe@kth.se, Pär Kurlberg for number theory, kurlberg@kth.se, and Henrik Shahgholian for Partial differential equations, henriksh@kth.se.

Additional information

Department home page

Clarifications/FAQ

Date: 2008/11/16 12:23:46