- 2020 ANDERS LINDQUIST "For contributions to optimal filtering, Zhiyuan Chair Professor, stochastic control, stochastic realization Shanghai Jiao Tong University, theory, and system identification." Shanghai, China 2019 – PRAMOD KHARGONEKAR "For contributions to robust and optimal Vice Chancellor for Research and control theory." Distinguished Professor, University of California, Irvine, California, USA 2018 - JOHN TSITSIKLIS "For contributions to the theory and Clarence J. Lebel Professor of application of optimization in large dynamic and distributed systems." Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA 2017 - RICHARD M. MURRAY "For contributions to the theory and applications of nonlinear and networked Everhart Professor of Control & control systems." Dynamical Systems and Bioengineering, Caltech, Pasadena, California, USA 2016 – ARTHUR J. KRENER "For contributions to the analysis, control, and estimation of nonlinear control Research Professor, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, systems." CA, USA 2015 - BRUCE FRANCIS "For pioneering contributions to H-infinity, Professor Emeritus, University of
- 2014 TAMER BASAR Swunlund Endowed Chair and CAS Professor of Electrical and Computing Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, USA

Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

- 2013 STEPHEN P. BOYD Samsung Professor of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA USA
- 2012 ALBERTO ISIDORI Professor of Systems and Control, University of Rome, Sapienza,

linear-multivariable, and digital control."

"For seminal contributions to dynamic games, stochastic and risk-sensitive control, control of networks, and hierarchical decision making."

"For contributions to systems design and analysis via convex optimization."

"For pioneering contributions to nonlinear control theory."

Rome, Italy

- 2011 EDUARDO D. SONTAG Professor II of Mathematics, Rutgers University Piscataway, NJ USA
- 2010 GRAHAM CLIFFORD GOODWIN Prof & Dir ARC Center of Excellence in Complex Dynamic Sys & Control Univ of Newcastle Callaghan, NSW, Australia
- 2009 DAVID Q. MAYNE Emeritus Professor of Control Theory and Senior Research Fellow, Imperial College, London, England
- 2008 MATHUKUMALLI VIDYASAGAR Executive Vice President, Tata Consultancy Services, Hyderabad, India
- 2007 LENNART LJUNG Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Linkopings Universitets, Linkoping, Sweden
- 2006 P.R. Kumar Franklin W. Woeltge Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL
- 2005 MANFRED MORARI Professor and Head of Automatic Control Laboratory, Eth Zurich, Switzerland
- 2004 JOHN DOYLE Professor, Dept of EE California Inst of Technology Pasadena, CA USA

"For fundamental contributions to nonlinear systems theory and nonlinear feedback control."

"For contributions to the theory and practice of digital and adaptive control."

"For contributions to the application of optimization to modern control theory."

"For promulgation of control science and engineering and contributions to robust control, robotics and statistical learning theory"

"For seminal contributions to system identification and its impact on industrial practice."

"For contributions to adaptive control, manufacturing systems and wireless communications."

"For pioneering contributions to the theory and application of robust process, model predictive, and hybrid systems control."

"For fundamental contributions to the analysis and control of uncertain systems."

- 2003 NIKOLAI NICOLAEVICH KRASOVSKI Principal Researcher, Professor, Technical University of Ural, Russia
- 2002 PRAVIN VARAIYA University of California at Berkeley Berkeley, CA USA
- 2001 KEITH GLOVER University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK
- 2000 SANJOY K. MITTER Professor Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Cambridge, MA USA
- 1999 A. STEPHEN MORSE Yale University New Haven, CT USA
- 1998 JAN C. WILLEMS University of Groningen Groningen, The Netherlands
- 1997 BRIAN D. O. ANDERSON Australian National University Canberra, Australia
- 1996 VLADIMIR A. YAKUBOVICH St. Petersburg University St. Petersburg, Russia
- 1995 PETAR V. KOKOTOVIC University of California Santa Barbara, CA USA
- 1994 ELMER G. GILBERT University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI USA

"For pioneering contributions to the theories of stability, control, and differential games."

"For outstanding contributions to stochastic and adaptive control and the unification of concepts from control and computer science."

"For pioneering and fundamental contributions to robust controller design and model order reduction."

"For contributions to optimization, optimal control, and nonlinear filtering, and for interdisciplinary research that has expanded the boundaries of control theory."

"For pioneering the geometric approach to linear multivariable control synthesis and contributions to nonlinear and adaptive control theory."

"For seminal contributions to control theory and leadership in systems research."

"For contributions in the areas of adaptive and optimal control, stability, and system identification."

"For pioneering and fundamental contributions to stability analysis and optimal control."

"For pioneering contributions to singular perturbation theory, adaptive systems, nonlinear controls, and their industrial applications."

"For pioneering and innovative contributions to linear state space theory and its applications, especially realization and decoupling, as well as to control algorithms."

- 1993 MOSHE M. ZAKAI Technion-Israel Institute of Technology Haifa, Israel
- 1992 HAROLD J. KUSHNER Brown University Providence, RI USA
- 1991 ROGER W. BROCKETT Harvard University Cambridge, MA USA
- 1990 KARL JOHAN ÅSTRÖM Lund University Lund, Sweden
- 1989 YU-CHI HO Harvard University Cambridge, MA USA
- 1988 DANTE C. YOULA Polytechnic Institute of NY Farmingdale, NY USA
- 1987 WALTER MURRAY WONHAM University of Toronto Ontario, Canada
- 1986 CHARLES A. DESOER University of California Berkeley, CA USA
- 1985 GEORGE ZAMES McGill University Montreal, Canada
- 1984 ARTHUR E. BRYSON, JR. Stanford University Stanford, CA USA
- 1983 NO AWARD
- 1982 HOWARD H. ROSENBROCK University of Manchester Manchester, England

"For contributions to non-linear stochastic analysis, and its applications to control systems."

"For fundamental contributions to stochastic systems theory and its engineering applications."

"For pioneering and innovative contributions to nonlinear control, stability, robotics and control engineering education."

"For fundamental contributions in control theory with emphasis on its practical application."

"For contributions to differential games, multi-person decision making, and discrete event dynamic systems."

"For original contributions in the areas of circuits, systems and control theory, and the rigorous solution of engineering problems."

"For pioneering contributions to the theory of stochastic systems, linear multivariable control, and discrete event systems."

"For fundamental contributions to linear system theory, linear controller design, linear and nonlinear stability analysis, and the role of feedback in nonlinear systems."

"For contributions to feedback stability theory and linear multivariable control system design."

"For pioneering contributions to optimal control and estimation and their applications."

"For contributions to multivariable control theory and design methods."